3Arts awards grants to Bronzeville and West Loop artists
November 2, 2018

3Arts, a Chicago-based nonprofit grantmaking organization, will award 20 Chicago artists with unrestricted grants at the 11th annual 3Arts Awards celebration, Monday, Nov. 5 at the Museum of Contemporary Art.

Among those being honored are Bronzeville residents Brittany “BrittanE” Edwards, musician, and Leida “Lady Sol” Garcia, a teaching artist, and West Loop resident and visual artist Huong Ngô. 

The 3Arts Awards celebration honors ten artists with $25,000 cash grants and ten additional artists with $1,000 grants as part of the peer-to-peer giving program, Make A Wave. 3Arts has distributed more than $3 million in total funding to more than 600 Chicago artists over the past 11 years and will award $260,000 on Nov. 5 alone.

“Championing Chicago artists is a privilege like no other,” said Esther Grisham Grimm, executive director of 3Arts. “We are thrilled to present our awardees with opportunities that they profoundly deserve. Last year’s launch of Make a Wave made it abundantly clear that there is nothing quite as exciting as witnessing artists offering support to other artists by paying it forward and encouraging them to dream big.”

The 2018 recipients of $25,000 3Arts Awards are: Dancers and dance educators T. Ayo Alston and Anna Martine Whitehead; musicians Brittany “BrittanE” Edwards and Ben LaMar Gay; teaching artists Leida “Lady Sol” Garcia and Elgin Bokari T. Smith; playwright and actor Sandra Delgado and costume designer Christine Pascual; and visual artists Dianna Frid and Huong Ngô. 

This year’s 3Arts Awards celebration will feature performances by past awardees including wheelchair dancer Kris Lenzo and operatic baritone Will Liverman. The event is led by co-chairs Erryn Cobb (3Arts Board of Directors member and CEO of Fetch Integrated Marketing Communications), Remberto Del Real (3Arts Board of Directors member and managing director of personal and business banking marketing for BMO Harris Bank), and Jess Godwin (singer/songwriter and 2016 3Arts Award recipient).

For more information, log on to https:3arts.org.