Blue wave becomes blue tsunami as Democrats sweep in this community
December 7, 2018

Mattie Hunter.

JB Pritzker.

By William S. Bike

The national blue wave was a blue tsunami in this area, as Democrats won every office. Every candidate endorsed by Gazette Chicago won.

JB Pritzker won the governorship with 2,383,047 votes for 54.1% over Republican and incumbent Bruce Rauner, who had 1,723,775 for 39.2%; Conservative Sam McCann, who had 188,529 for 4.3%; and Libertarian Kash Jackson, who tallied 105,515 for 2.4%.

In the City of Chicago, the margins were even bigger: 706,710 for 81.3% for Pritzker, 132,354 for 15.2% for Rauner, 18.877 for 2.1% for Jackson, and 12,1977 for 1.4% for McCann.

Gazette Chicago covers Wards 3, 4, 11, 12, 25, 27, 28, and 42. Pritzker’s margins were smallest in the 42nd Ward, 67.2% for Pritzker to 30.1% for Rauner, and the 11th Ward, 72.7% for Pritzker and 23.5% for Rauner. In the other wards: 3rd Ward, Pritzker 86.1%, Rauner 11.1%; 4th Ward, Pritzker 90.3%, Rauner 7.0%; 12th Ward Pritzker 84.0%, Rauner 11.4%; 25th Ward, Pritzker 83.2%, Rauner 13.2%; 27th ward, Pritzker 84.1%, Rauner 13.0%; and 28th Ward, Pritzker 90.4%, Rauner 6.7%.

For attorney general Kwame Raoul, a state senator from this area in the 13th District, won the race with 2,389,980 for 54.3%, over Republican Erika Harold, 1,900,115 for 43.2%, and Libertarian Bubba Harsy, 111,773 for 2.5%.

The secretary of state will again be Jesse White, the election’s top vote getter, who tallied 3,007,446 for 68.0%, over Republican Jason Helland, 1,304,267 for 29.5%, and Libertarian Steve Dutner, 110,294 for 2.5%.

Dan Lipinski.

Bobby Rush.

Patricia Van Pelt.

Incumbent Susana Mendoza won the comptroller’s spot with 2,613,336 for 59.5%, over Republican Darlene Senger with 1,641,232 for 37.4% and Libertarian Claire Ball with 135,360 for 3.1%

The Illinois treasurer will again be Mike Frerichs, who tallied 2,494,618 for 57.3%, besting Republican Jim Dodge, 1,710,814 for 39.3%, and Libertarian Mike Leheney, 149,796 for 3.4%.

In state senate races, running unopposed and winning were incumbents Mattie Hunter, 3rd District, and Patricia Van Pelt, 4th District.

In state house races, running unopposed and winning were Theresa Mah, 2nd District; Delia Ramirez, 4th District; Lamont Robinson Jr., 5th District; Sonya Marie Harper, 6th District; Arthur Turner, 9th District; Melissa Conyears-Ervin, 10th District, and Christian Mitchell, 26th District.

In the U.S. House of Representatives 1st District, incumbent Bobby Rush won with 181,020 for 73.0%, over Republican Jimmy Lee Tillman with 50,227 for 20.3%, and independent Thomas Rudback with 16,752 for 6.8%.

The 3rd District saw incumbent Dan Lipinski win with 158,161 for 73.5%, vs. Republican Holocaust-denier and self-described “white racialist” Arthur Jones with 56,944 for 26.5%. The Illinois Board of Elections had not reported vote totals for write-in candidate Justin Hanson as of this writing, but they are expected to total about 1%.

The 3rd District touches this community in the 11th Ward and 12th Ward, where Lipinski was more popular and Jones more unpopular than overall in the district. In the 11th, Lipinski tallied 8,812 votes for 84.4%, to Jones’s 1,624 for 15.6%. In the 12th, Lipinski garnered 2,046 for 89.2%, to a paltry 247 for Jones for 10.8%.

Outside the Chicago city limits, in suburban Cook County, Lipinski tallied 84,386 for 71% to Jones’s 34,198 for 29%. In Will County, Jones tallied 15,576 for 38%, Lipinski beating him with 18,198 for 60%.

In the 4th District, Jesus “Chuy” Garcia becomes a first-time congressman with 104,414 votes for 90.3%, vs. Republican Mark Lorch with 11,237 for 9.7%.

The 7th District saw incumbent Danny K. Davis win with 199,625 for 87.8% over Republican Craig Cameron with 27,776 for 12.2%.

Newcomer Fritz Kaegi became Cook County assessor with 1,194,532 votes for 75.8%, over Republican Joseph Paglia with 382,058 for 24.2%.

In the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District, voters pick three candidates for six-year terms. Democrats Debra Shore, Kari Steele, and Marcelino Garcia won over two Republicans and three Green Party candidates. For two two-year terms, Democrats Kimberly Neely Dubuclet and Cam Davis won over their Green Party opponents, with no Republicans even filing.

In the County Board 3rd District, newcomer Bill Lowry won with 91,582 for 89.7% over Republican and community activist George Blakemore, who tallied 10,501 for 10.3%. Jerry “Iceman” Butler, who retired, had held the seat for many years before this election.

In the board’s 11th District, incumbent John Daley won with 67,564 for 73.2%, over Republican Steven Graves, who tallied 24,766 for 26.8%.

Bill Lowry.

John Daley.

Running unopposed and winning Cook County offices were Toni Preckwinkle, president; Karen Yarbrough, clerk; Thomas Dart, sheriff; Maria Pappas, treasurer; Brandon Johnson, 1st District; Dennis Deer, 2nd District; and Alma E. Anaya, 7th District.

Cook County referenda on three topics won: strengthening firearm penalties (and certifying gun dealers), instituting a $13 per hour minimum wage, and changing required sick days.

Two hotly contested Chicago referenda appeared on the ballot, but as of this writing, the results will have no effect. One would limit the Chicago mayor to two terms. The other would establish a new citywide elected office of consumer advocate.

Even though the referenda appeared on the ballot, the Circuit Court of Cook County ruled that, as of this writing, the results will not count.

The two questions appeared on the ballot due to work by the group Take Charge Chicago, which circulated petitions to do so.

According to Chicago Board of Elections spokesperson Jim Allen, “The court ruled that the petitioner failed to give proper notice of appeal to objectors and that one cannot have two questions on one petition.” Therefore, the court has directed the Chicago Board of Elections not to release the results.

“If we get a court order to report the results, we will,” Allen said. “If not, the questions are moot.”

Other Chicago referenda that won included property tax exemptions, a ban on plastic straws, and using part of legal cannabis sales revenue for schools and mental health. The property tax referendum won with 79.0% of the vote, and the cannabis referendum won with 88.2%. The ban on plastic straws was closer, with 55.2% voting yes.

Gazette Chicago recommended that voters turn three judges out of office. Maura Slattery Boyle held her seat with 385,560 yes votes for 61.1%, and Michael McHale held his seat with 426,571 yes votes for 70.5%, but Matthew E. Coghlan lost his seat with 317,108 no votes for 50.3%

Chicago’s voter turnout was 59.28%, the highest for a midterm election since 1986.